New Title Tuesday! Heather Boyd – An Improper Proposal

On New Title Tuesday, you will find books that have been out for less than three months or will be released within two weeks in all different genres, with all sorts of authors. If you would like to be featured on NTT, use the contact form to let me know.


An Improper Proposal, Heather Boyd
Genre: Historical Romance
Release Date: June 9, 2015

AIP_Cover533x800In life there are choices…

Spinster Iris Hedley was once the darling of the ton until her father lost his fortune through an illness of the mind. Reduced to living as a penniless guest while her father rots in debtors’ prison, she’s determined to escape unscrupulous robbers who’ve set her to spy on the ton by the only means possible—by becoming a wealthy man’s mistress. Unfortunately for Iris, her proper upbringing never covered intimacy or seduction so she asks the one man she trusts for help with private lessons in the duties of a mistress.

…in love there is but one.

Martin Andrews, the Earl of Louth, may have a soft spot for tiny Iris Hedley, especially after her father fled London with a horde of debtors nipping at his heels. Her request for lessons in seduction leaves him reeling and although tempted it’s an offer he must refuse for her own good. Convinced she’s headed for heartbreak, he sets out to prove that surrendering to wicked pleasure is not worth the sacrifice of her future only to discover that her problems are more complicated than his own.

Buy Links
Amazon | iBooks | Kobo | Nook | Add to Goodreads


 

Who first encouraged you to write?
My husband John has been the biggest boon to my writing life. Unlike a lot of writers, I haven’t been writing since the moment of my birth. I have always been a reader but it wasn’t until a family holiday that I had time to put pen to paper. They were older and I didn’t have to watch them quite so carefully by then. I attempted something that I thought was brilliant but seriously, the story just didn’t go anywhere. When I joined a writers group, I got feedback and studied how to write my stories better. John has always pushed me to follow my dreams and understands that occasionally the compulsion to write now is something I can’t always turn aside.

What inspired you to write this book?
When I originally dreamed up the first Distinguished Rogues story I had a handful of secondary characters, friends of the hero, and Lord Louth was one of them. He is a big man with an even bigger heart; his was a story I always intended to write. I just didn’t at first imagine it would take me so long to get here. The series is now up to book six and still going.

What do you think is the most important quality to cultivate to be a successful writer?
Success means different things to different people and its not always easy or possible to say one quality is the most important. For me it is being dedicated to fulfilling my dreams, writing my own stories (rather than following the herd of what’s popular), and paying it forward by supporting other authors as they pursue their own publishing dreams. A thick skin helps too because there are times when an offhand remark can just drag you down and smother you in self-doubt.

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000037_00031]

About the Author
HeatherBoyd_200Bestselling historical author Heather Boyd believes every character she creates deserves their own happily-ever-after, no matter how much trouble she puts them through. With that goal in mind, she writes sizzling regency romance stories that skirt the boundaries of propriety to keep readers enthralled until the wee hours of the morning. Heather has published over twenty novels and shorter works. Catch her latest news http://www.heather-boyd.com. She lives north of Sydney, Australia, and does her best to wrangle her testosterone-fuelled family (including cat Morpheus) into submission.

Connect with Heather: Website | Twitter | Facebook Page | Mailing list

Leave a Reply

