New Title Tuesday! Jude Knight – Farewell to Kindness

On New Title Tuesday, you will find books that have been out for less than three months or will be released within two weeks in all different genres, with all sorts of authors. If you would like to be featured on NTT, use the contact form to let me know.


Farewell to Kindness, Jude Knight
Genre: Regency Noir
Release Date: April 1 (pre-order available)

11077713_438048123011426_6945724_oFor three years, Rede has been searching for those who ordered the murders of his wife and children. Now close to end of his quest, he travels to his country estate to be close to the investigation.

He is fascinated by the lovely widow who lives in one of the cottages he owns. A widow who pays no rent. A widow, moreover, with a small daughter whose distinctive eyes mark her as as the child of his predecessor as Earl.

Six years ago, Anne blackmailed Rede’s predecessor at arrow-point for an income and a place to live in hiding from her guardian’s sinister plans for her and her sisters. He no longer has legal rights over her, but the youngest sister is still only 18. He cannot be allowed to find her.

Rede is everything she has learned not to trust: a man, a peer, a Redepenning. If he discovers who she is, she may lose everything.

To build a future together, Rede and Anne must be prepared to face their pasts.

Heat: PG13 edging towards R in places

Buy Links
Amazon
B&N
Kobo
Smashwords (after release)
iTunes

What was the first thing you thought when you saw your published book the first time? 
When the proof copies arrived for Farewell to Kindness, I was so excited and happy. It looks real! I am a novelist. Hey, Mum, look at me!

When did you first decide to call yourself a writer? What prompted the decision?
‘Writer’ wasn’t the question. I’ve always been a writer. I’ve written since I was a young girl, and I’ve been publishing in the broad area of non-fiction (plus a short story here and there) since I was 14. I make my living as a commercial writer. But in my secret heart of hearts, I’ve always wanted to define myself as a novelist.

That’s kind of tough when the novels I had written up till recently were fit only for the scrap heap or were unfinished.

When my mother died two years ago, I decided it was time to stop talking about being a novelist, and actually write – and finish – a novel.

Look, Mum, I’m a novelist.

What is your best advice for someone just starting their first manuscript? Halfway through? Just finished?
Write and keep writing. And when you’re not writing, read. Set a daily word count and stick to it. Make writing what you do whenever you’re waiting for an appointment or a bus; whenever you have a few minutes to spare. If you write 200 words a day, In a year you will have a novel. So just write.

And when you’re done, seek critical readers. My beta readers pulled apart the things that needed fixing, and gave me the confidence to fix them.

About the Author
10726384_438048036344768_1967130616_nJude Knight writes strong determined heroines, heroes who can appreciate a clever capable woman, villains you’ll love to loathe, and all with a leavening of humour.

Website and Blog
Facebook
Twitter
Newsletter
Goodreads

 

2 thoughts on “New Title Tuesday! Jude Knight – Farewell to Kindness

  1. I had coffee with a would be writer from my work a couple of days ago, and suggested she tried writing every day, even if it was just for 10 minutes. 200 words a day, every day for a year, will give you the first draft of a novel. This morning, she tells me that she’s doing it. This is her third day, and we’re both so delighted. Just do it. Editing can come later, but every day put something into that first draft.

    Like

Leave a Reply

