New Title Tuesday! Jude Knight – Candle’s Christmas Chair

On New Title Tuesday, you will find books that have been out for less than three months, in all different genres, with all sorts of authors. If you would like to be featured on NTT, use the contact form to let me know.


Candle’s Christmas Chair, by Jude Knight
Genre: Georgian Romance – FREE EBOOK

BookcoverCCC2When Viscount Avery comes to see the best invalid chair maker in the southwest of England he does not expect to find Minerva Bradshaw, the woman who rejected him three years earlier. Or did she? Older and wiser, he wonders if there is more to the story. For three years, Min Bradshaw has remembered the handsome guardsman who courted her for her fortune. She didn’t expect to see him in her workshop, and she certainly doesn’t intend to let him fool her again. Even if he is handsomer and more charming than ever.

Download for free at:
Smashwords
Barnes and Noble
Scribd

What was the first thing you thought when you saw your published book the first time? 
I was super excited. I’ve thought about this and planned it for so long, it was hard to believe this wasn’t another day dream. When it appeared in the Smashwords bookstore, I downloaded both the ePub and the Kindle version, and sat and looked at them on my iPad. I absolutely love the cover, and I kept going back to the bookstore to compare Candle to the other covers and feel smug.

When did you first decide to call yourself a writer? What prompted the decision?
I was seven. That’s the age people ask you ‘what do you want to be when you grow up?’ I wasn’t as creative (or as literal) as our son, who answered the same question with ‘a horse’. I said: ‘a writer and a mother’. I found careers advice for our children very difficult, because I’ve never had any doubts about what work I should do. And I’ve been lucky enough to do it. Though I’ve been away from fiction for a long time, I’ve loved the writing I’ve done. And now I’m loving life in the early 19th Century, and the people I’m meeting there.

What is your best advice for someone just starting their first manuscript? Halfway through? Just finished?
If you’re starting your first manuscript, write every day. Set yourself a daily word count and be fanatical about meeting it. If your target is only 100 words a day, at the end of a year you will have 35,600 words.

If you’re halfway through, don’t stop. If things aren’t working, are you trying to tell the wrong story or to force your characters somewhere that doesn’t fit their characters? If your story is boring you, what can you do to make it interesting?

If you’ve just finished, you’ve just begun. Reread and be critical. Look for continuity slipups, awkward changes in point of view, and boring bits that you wrote just to get to the next part of the story. If it really doesn’t work, can you fix it? If it works, or when it works, get other people to read it. I love my beta readers. They see problems I didn’t notice, and give me time to fix them!

If you can’t fix it, put it in a bottom drawer and start on the next project. My drawer is full of finished and unfinished pieces. I may dust them off one day and try again. Meanwhile, I learnt a lot from writing them.

Above all, read. Read widely, and read critically.

About the Author
i-JfvBhZR-LJude Knight has been a commercial writer and editor for most of her working life. Candle’s Christmas Chair is her first published fiction in over 30 years. She has a novel with beta readers and two more in various stages of writing, all slated for publication in 2015.

Twitter
Blog
Facebook
Goodreads

Leave a Reply

