New Title Tuesday! Linda Andrews – A Gift From St. Nick

On New Title Tuesday, you will find books that have been out for less than three months, in all different genres, with all sorts of authors. If you would like to be featured on NTT, use the contact form to let me know.


A Gift from St. Nick, by Linda Andrews
Genre: Historical Romance

Attachment-1Hans Lubeck lost his birthright to a woman’s deceitful games. Ten years later, he’s on the cusp of fulfilling his dream of captaining his own ship. And another woman could jeopardize everything.

Schoolteacher Lenore Kerrigan devotes her time to her pupils and good works. She has no use for a man or the damage he could do to her reputation.

But this holiday season, fate and an island of matchmakers have other plans. Will they accept the gift of a lifetime, or will the past steal away any chance at happiness?

Buy at: Amazon.com

What was the first thing you thought when you saw your published book the first time? 
Holy Cow, I’m really published. Then I thought it wasn’t the best cover but I petted it and hugged it anyway. I’m still with my first publisher and I like most of my other covers from them but I really enjoy the self-publishing side and having covers I really, really love.

When did you first decide to call yourself a writer? What prompted the decision?
I first decided to call myself a writer 10 years after I’d published my first book and 15 years after I started writing. Even now, I know I’m not a writer in the traditional sense, but I’m a storyteller in the best sense. And while it may seem like splitting hairs, this is the difference in my mind. A storyteller follows the passion of whatever idea/characters the story fairy sends their way. A writer understands her audience and their demands for the next book in the genre. The distinction is a livable wage and is especially salient given today’s combustible marketplace where readers want new content constantly. I write in 4 distinct genres with very little crossover readership. So while I’m  producing new content, the genre changes between books and I lose market share as a result. I’m adapting but I’m not as aware of the business side as most writers.

What is your best advice for someone just starting their first manuscript? Halfway through? Just finished?
If you’re just starting your first manuscript, bleed the passion you feel for the project onto the page. If you’re halfway through, find that passion again that made you want to write the story. If you’ve finished it, find other writers in your genre to help you with the revisions, the criticisms, and the ups and downs of the business. Then start the next book. Every book is a learning experience and will help you grow. Every failure is an opportunity. Every success is a goal achieved. And learning keeps you young, even if you learn what not to do. Good luck!

About the Author
Linda Andrews lives with her husband and three children in Phoenix, Arizona. When she announced to her family that her paranormal romance was to be published, her sister pronounce: “What else would she write? She’s never been normal.”

All kidding aside, writing has become a surprising passion. So just how did a scientist start to write paranormal romances? What other option is there when you’re married to romantic man and live in a haunted house?

Website
Facebook
Blog

Leave a Reply

