New Title Tuesday! Ashley Ladd – Business or Pleasure

On New Title Tuesday, you will find books that have been out for less than three months, in all different genres, with all sorts of authors. If you would like to be featured on NTT, use the contact form to let me know.


Business or Pleasure, by Ashley Ladd
Genre: Erotic M/M Romance

Guy Rogers is a passionate vegetarian and animal activist. He is extremely attracted to his new realtor, Tom Beaudreaux. Guy mistakes Tommy to be a kindred soul but unfortunately, Tommy is neither. Tommy’s family owns the most popular barbecue restaurant in town and if his family has their way, he’ll manage the new location.

What was the first thing you thought when you saw your published book the first time? 
If you mean ‘Business or Pleasure’, my newest release, I was very proud but nervous. I started setting up book tours with My Family’s Heart plus looking for other sites to also host my book. I became a promotion machine. It was only the second book I’d had out in a couple of years. I’d been suffering from writer’s block and depression and I hoped and prayed that it would be met with welcome.

If you mean my very first book ever, ‘Tigers Play’, I was so excited that I was shouting to the world. I told everybody I knew—in person. It wasn’t an erotic romance like ‘Business or Pleasure’. I didn’t know anything about book tours and didn’t know how to promote. But I felt like I gave birth to a baby. Come to think of it, I felt like I gave birth to ‘Business or Pleasure’ too.

When did you first decide to call yourself a writer? What prompted the decision?
I never had a choice to be a writer. I just was. I knew I was a writer from the time I was about six years old. I began writing stories as soon as I learned how to read and write. I used to regale my dad with my stories and I entered children’s writing contests.

What is your best advice for someone just starting their first manuscript? Halfway through? Just finished?

First, read a lot in general but especially in your chosen genre and your targeted publisher(s). Get to know their style. Read their submission guidelines and follow them. Read between the lines by writing similar stories to what they sell.

Then start to write. Your first draft doesn’t have to be perfect. It doesn’t need to be cookie cutter—just in the general realm. Then edit your heart out. Have a critique group or partner go over your work before submitting it to a publisher. Then be sure to give your baby wings and submit. Publishers won’t come looking for you. You have to seek them out.

About the Author

Ashley Ladd bioAshley Ladd is a disabled Air Force vet that is hard of hearing but still loves language, especially the written word.

How you can contact Ashley:
Email
Blog
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads
Shelfari
Amazon

Buy Links:
Amazon.com
AllRomanceBooks.com
Totally Bound

 

Leave a Reply

