Blog Tour – Writing Process

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERATheCoin_small-2I was nominated for this blog tour by Maria Elena Alonso-Sierra, author of The Coin. www.mariaelenawrites.com and www.mariaelenawrites.blogspot.com

 

Who am I?

MAC head shotI am a Denver-based author of historical fiction, Regency romance, and poetry. I have two books available, Saqil pa Q’equ’mal: Light in Darkness, an epic poem about a journey into the Mayan Underworld, and A Loaf of Bread: A Collection of Illuminated Recipes, an artistically inspired bread cookbook (with my mother, the artist), originally released in the 70s.

As far as fiction, two novels and a novella will be released between now and the end of 2014: Blind Tribute, a mainstream historical about a conflicted newspaper reporter during the Civil War; Royal Regard, a Regency romance focused on an ambassador’s wife; and a Regency novella about a courtesan, La Déesse Noire: The Black Goddess. A mainstream historical duology set in turn-of-the-century Brooklyn, The Stolen Child and Concrete Loyalties, will come out sometime late next year.

1)     What am I working on?

Releasing three books by the end of the year! In between proofreading and fact-checking and cover design and beta reader comments, though, I am starting a Regency romance series, The Follescrofts of Terespere Park, still in the earliest stages. I’m about six chapters into the first draft of the first book and outlining the other five novels.

2)     How does my work differ from others of its genre?

My work stands out (I hope) because I tend to choose—or be chosen by—interesting characters who imply unusual plots.

In Blind Tribute, the protagonist, Harry, is almost 60 at the start of the story, an avowed centrist with interests and high-ranking friends on both sides of the war, giving him not only a unique perspective on the conflict, but also a cynicism that leads him, rather than a wholehearted belief in one side or the other.

In Royal Regard, both hero and heroine are much older and world-wise, who might be “mentors” in a traditional Regency. In La Deessé Noire, the heroine is not a wide-eyed virgin, but rather, an experienced Indian courtesan trained from childhood to please men, who plans a “marriage of convenience” with a gay man.

3)     Why do I write what I do?

I am compelled.

I never, ever saw myself as a fiction writer until an accidental short story in an accidental class turned into an accidental novel. My degree focused on creative non-fiction and I have never actually used it for that purpose.

4)     How does my writing process work?

Like an addiction.

I write until I can’t anymore. Most often, after 48 hours, I just have to go to sleep. Writer’s block hits often enough to give me space to consider what to write next, but not often enough to frustrate me.

My primary source of angst is that I work as a writer, editor, and designer, so when I am also writing fiction, I can easily spend 14 hours a day in front of the computer. My roommate has to remind me to eat.

The first post I made on this blog was called Writing “Process,” as I had so many questions from other people about “how I could write so many novels,” so I refer you there.

***

On July 28 (my birthday!), two other authors will pick up the torch and continue the tour:

Tony Riches51Lpy0DZ-lL._AA160_Tony Riches, author of Warwick, will post at http://tonyriches.blogspot.com/.

Tony lives his wife in Pembrokeshire, one of the most unspoilt areas of the UK. His first novel, ‘Queen Sacrifice’ was written after looking into the early history of Wales and seeing the parallels to a game of chess, with kings and queens, bishops and castles – and the people becoming pawns in their civil wars.

 

Heather KingHeather King, author of A Sense of the Ridiculous, will post at http://regencywriter-hking.blogspot.com/.

Heather King has always been a dreamer, going off for hours into a make-believe world peopled by imaginary characters. From the age of seven, when she won a third prize from Cadbury’s for a story written at school, she has loved writing. Nowadays she writes short stories for magazines, Regency Romances and, as her alter ego, Vandalia Black, is soon to release a collection of Vampire Romance short stories.

 

Leave a Reply

